Baby Bennett #3

Words can barely express the emotions I felt when my wife told me she was pregnant again. I had just come home from an early morning Saturday shift. I had gotten up and left the house by a quarter to six in the morning. I was coming home a bit after noon. I was tired from a long week at work, and from a long day at work. My wife enjoys decorating our house each season and is normally very excited to share and surprise me with her decorations. I’m excited to see them.

I walk in the door and she covers my eyes. It’s a familiar routine, and I’m willing to play along. I can smell her cooking and know that there’s a surprise of food waiting for me at the end. She walks me through our apartment, I know by feel where I am. She uncovers my eyes as we reach the table. I see a beautiful spread of food and cute decorations. Slowly, my eyes come to focus on a little plaque: Baby #3 coming soon June 2017.

The understanding broke over me like water over a dam. Something inside broke. Tears poured forth freely from my eyes as we embraced. Tears that hadn’t fallen since the second baby was lost. I shook in my excitement. The familiar excitement of becoming a father (again) coursed through my veins. Also, the fears broke against my back with the same force.

The next several weeks were a trial of trusting the Lord. We held our dear child loosely in our hands. There were many nights of fear, as memories surged through our minds. I sent many texts and made many calls just to make sure the baby was okay. I breathed near constant prayers for the safety of our baby.

And the days turned to weeks, and still, the baby was there. Appointments came and went. The baby was still there. Weeks turned to months, and still, the baby is here. Every moment a gift, and every day a blessing. We are grateful to be approaching the halfway mark (20 weeks)! God is so gracious, and we are very blessed!
We are so eager to welcome this child into our apartment and life. We are so grateful to God for his grace.

Leave a comment